Members of Committee debating fees regulations

Just another quick update on this, we’ve set out the Committee members who will be debating the fees regulations together with their interests for you in the table below should you wish to contact them.

e Title Party Interests  
Mr Nigel Evans Committee Chairman Lib Dem    
Margaret Beckett Housing and planning minister Labour Former foreign secretary. First woman to be president of the board of trade  
Richard Caborn Ambassador for 2018 world cup   Former sports minister. Set up Regional Development Agencies. Supported the ANC, the miners’ strike, and Tony Benn. Will stand down at election  
Damian Green Shadow Immigration Minister Conservatives    
Evan Harris   Lib Dem Jewish South African parents. A member of the Joint Committee on Human Rights. Former shadow roles include education and science. Vice-president of the Gay and Lesbian Humanist Association. vice chairman of the groups on refugees, malaria, AIDS ice chairman of the groups on refugees, malaria, AIDS etc  
Tom Harris Labour Was Parli-Under-Sec Transport Unison member. Former NUJ. Blogger  
Chris Huhne Lib Dem Shadow Home Secretary    
Bernard Jenkin Conservative   (Expenses scandal: ordered to repay £63,000) Was Shadow Defence Secretary and Shadow Energy Minister  
Bob Laxton Labour Will stand down at next election During the 2001 Parliament he served as Parliamentary Private Secretary to Alan Johnson  
Martin Linton Labour   Former Mail, FT and Guardian journalist. Chair of Labour Friends of Palestine & the Middle East  
Steve McCabe Labour   Labour Party whip  
Chris McCafferty 


Labour   Was a case worker for Calderdale Well Women Centre, which includes domestic violence counselling

Has sat on the International Development Committee.

Anne Main Conservative   Member of the Energy and Climate Change Committee, Communities and Local Government Committee, Advisory Committee on Works of Art  
Julie Morgan Labour   Former social worker and assistant director of Barnardo’s. Rebelled against controversial cuts in benefit for disabled people. Led a demonstration of “Labour Women Against War” in Cardiff city centre. An active member of the PLP Women’s Group. Has supported campaigns for refugee children.  
Brooks Newmark (male) Opposition Foreign Affairs Whip Conservative Has asked parliamentary questions about rape and domestic violence convictions, human trafficking, forced marriage.  
Hugo Swire Hon. Secretary of the Conservative Middle East Council Conservative Sacked as Shadow Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport for suggesting museums would not be free. Chairman of the All Party United Arab Emirates Group and Treasurer of the All Party Oman Group  
Phil Woolas Immigration Minister Labour    


k update on this.

About jcwi

Joint Council for the Welfare of Immigrants is a key campaigning voice in the field of immigration, asylum and nationality law and policy. It is completely independent from government funding, remaining entirely free from government influence. View all posts by jcwi

One response to “Members of Committee debating fees regulations

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: